St. Monans or St. Monance is a gorgeous little village named after Saint Monance, in the East Neuk just over 4 miles South along the coast from Crail and 3 miles outside of Anstruther. Its traditional fishing village feel still makes it a popular spot to buy or eat fish with notable and popular fish merchants and fish smokehouse as well as pubs, restaurants and shops. The St. Monans parish Church perched on a hilly cliff edge is an elegant and popular visitor attraction.
St. Monans Harbour
The original pier (on the site of the present middle one), was built by Baron Newark in the 15th century. The foundation stone of a new pier, to the east of the old one, was laid in 1863 and the pier finished in 1865. The old West Pier was demolished and a new harbour was surveyed, designed and constructed by Thomas and David Stevenston (Thomas was the father of Robert Louis, of Treasure Island fame). Further improvements were carried out in 1885 and both basins were deepened in 1902/5.
St. Monans Parish Church
The Old Kirk by the sea in St. Monans dates originally from the thirteenth century whilst Largoward church is in a farming community and dates from 1835. Today, in both, the Christian faith is celebrated, shared and lived out in a relevant and meaningful way through worship, friendship, care and action.
East Pier Smokehouse
The East Pier Smokehouse is a seasonal Shop and Harbour Cafe. They serve smoked Langoustines, salmon, local cheese, hot-smoked Chicken, Duck & local Mackerel. Also a selection of drinks including teas and Fairtrade coffee are on offer.
St. Monans Windmill
A few hundred yards east of St Monans and standing above a raised beach close to the shore is St Monans Windmill. It stands as one of the few reminders of an industry which was once the main source of employment for the whole area. The restored windmill is the last remaining windmill in Fife.